Position Profiles:

Elected positions / officers of the Institute are: 

  1. President
  2. 1st Vice President
  3. 2nd Vice President
  4. Secretary
  5. Treasurer

Duties of the President.

The 1st Vice President shall:

  1. (Preside as the Chairperson of the Executive Committee and at meetings of the members in the absence of the President.
  2. Succeed to the office and carry out the duties in case the President is unable to serve.
  3. Be responsible for all forms of Institute communication with members.
  4. Supervise the Institute publicity activities.
  5. Present to the Executive Board reports, when requested, concerning assigned duties and responsibilities.
  6. Perform such other duties as may be assigned by the President.

Duties of 2nd Vice President.

The 2nd Vice President shall:

  1. Be prepared to assume the responsibilities of the First Vice President and to perform his/her duties whenever the First Vice President is prevented from so doing.
  2. Be cognizant of and monitor the progress of all the standing and task force committees assigned by the President, offering suggestions, and making recommendations that will be beneficial to the membership of the organization.
  3. Recommend the establishment of specific task force committees and their objectives and composition, as appropriate.
  4. Coordinate the details, in conjunction with the First Vice President, of all membership meetings and the annual membership meeting.

Duties of the Secretary.

     The Secretary shall:

  1. Keep minutes and attendance of the regular Institute meetings and publish minutes as directed by the Executive Board.
  2. Serve as Secretary and keep minutes and attendance records of meetings of the Executive Board and distribute minutes to committee members.
  3. Cause to be issued notices of regular and special meetings of the Institute.
  4. Record all resolutions and actions of the Institute members and of the Executive Board and bring them to the attention of the proper persons, committees or organizations.
  5. Receive reports from the Vetting Committee and cause them to be published as prescribed in the constitution and Bylaws.
  6. Announce all proposed changes to the Constitution and Bylaws to the members.
  7. Maintain official records of the Institute, and of the Executive Board and of their transactions except those specially assigned by the Bylaws to another officer or committee chairperson.
  8. Appoint a Parliamentarian who shall have these duties:
  9. Be responsible for educating, supporting and consulting with Institute leadership on the proper conduct and execution of all meetings in accordance with Institute Constitution and, except as otherwise provided, in accordance with the latest edition of “Robert's Rules of Order".
  10. Assure, by monitoring and/or immediate intervention if necessary, that all meetings are conducted and executed in accordance with the prescribed rules of order.
  11. Assist in revising and updating Bylaws to accomplish the Institutes objectives.
  12. Assume the duties of the Treasurer or Vice President, as necessary, until another Treasurer or Vice President can be elected.
  13. Perform such other duties as may be assigned by the President.

Duties of the Treasurer.

The Treasurer shall:

  1. Supervise the receipt and disbursement of funds as directed by the Executive Board.
  2. Supervise the preparation of an annual budget for approval by the Executive Board.
  3. Report to the Executive Board on receipts and on assets and liabilities.
  4. Maintain Institute funds in depositories approved by the Executive Board.
  5. Assume the duties of Secretary, as necessary, until another Secretary can be elected.
  6. Perform such other duties as may be assigned by the President.

The Executive Board.

As required by GhISEP constitution, the administrative responsibilities and affairs of the Institute shall be vested in an Executive Board consisting of the Officers, eight (8) elected Members and the Immediate Past President. The President shall serve as Chairperson and the Secretary as Secretary of the Executive Board meeting. The eight (8) elected Board Members are elected at the annual general meeting to a three-year term.